bookheartTo Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

Authored by Harper Lee and published in 1960, To Kill a Mockingbird is a novel that achieved instant success by winning the honorable Pulitzer Prize and is recognized as a modern day classic in American literature.


The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

Authored by an American writer, F. Scott Fitzgerald, The Great Gatsby is a novel which was published in the year 1925. The book is set around New York City and North Shore in Long Inlands during the time of summer 1922.


The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck

Authored by John Steinbeck, The Grapes of Wrath is a novel which was awarded the honorable Nobel Prize in the year 1962 and it also received the Pulitzer Prize in 1940. The novel is set at the time of the Great Depression and circles around Joads, poor families of sharecroppers.


A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens

Written by Charles Dickens, A Christmas Carol was published first in the year 1843 in Chapman and Hall. The story narrates the emotional, ethical and ideological transformation of Ebenezer Scrooge after he experiences supernatural visits from Jocob Marley and Ghosts of Christmases Past, Present and Yet to Come.


Carch-22 by Joseph Heller

Joseph Heller’s Catch 22 is a satirical and historical novel which was published in the year 1961. The novel, which is set from 1944 during the time of Second World War, is considered to be one of the greatest works in English literature of the 20th century.


For Whom the Bell Tolls by Ernest Hemingway

The novel, For Whom the Bell Tolls, was authored by Ernest Hemingway and first came into publication in the year 1940. The novel is a story about a young American person, Robert Jordan, who is a part of the International Brigades and is working with a republican guerilla unit at the time of the Spanish Civil War.


Middlemarch: A Study of Provincial Life by George Eliot

George Eliot’s Middlemarch: A Study of Provincial Life is a novel which was started by her in the year 1869. The novel is set in the period of 1830-1832 in the Midlands town of Middlemarch, a fictitious town described by the author. The plot of the book is diversified and it casts several characters.


The Color Purple by Alice Walker

Written by African-American author, Alice Walker, in the year 1982, The Color Purple is a novel which has received numerous prestigious awards such as the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction in the year 1983 and the National Book Award. It was also adopted into a musical and a film.


Vanity Fair by William Makepeace Thackeray

Authored by William Makepeace Thackeray, Vanity Fair: A Novel without a Hero, is a book which was published in the year 1847-48. The novel satirizes the British society of the early nineteenth century. The title of the book has been derived from the allegorical story written by John Bunyan, The Pilgrim’s Progress, which was published first in the year 1678 and had gained popularity.


Three Musketeers by Alexandre Dumas

Written by Alexandre Dumas in 1884, The Three Musketeers is regarded as one of the all time classic novels. The novel initiates in France and the year is 1625. Eighteen year old D’Artagnan travels to Paris and joins the three musketeers (Athos, Aramis and Porthos). He then offends them and is challenged to a fight by them. Instead of fighting, all the four are attacked by five Cardinal guards, where D’Artagnan fights bravely and the four unite and flee.


Leave a reply

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>